Doctor Don's i(n)2it

Home » Bricolage » Title video

Title video

I shot this video (and chose it for my blog) for a very specific reason:  it captures the spirit of bricolage and multimodality.

The hand you see is one of the wonderful teachers at Sound to Sea; I was a class chaperon for a field trip there.  What you see is the truly talented Miss Lauren writing (per my request) my blog title and name.  It’s not as simple and straightforward as it appears.  Look closer:

She is writing UPSIDE DOWN and from RIGHT to LEFT!  If that doesn’t sound very difficult, take a crack at it and you’ll see just how hard it is.  

I was so intrigued by how fluid and effortless it was for her, and I realized that she was truly creating meaning and communicating via multiple modes and bricolage.

1 Comment

  1. […] I’ve had this blog for a little over a year now, and the time is right for a name change!  “Bricolage” is still central to my thoughts, interests and writing and will now be one of my blog’s […]

Leave a Reply

