Doctor Don's i(n)2it

Home » Ars moriendi » Roger Moore: A short appreciation

Roger Moore: A short appreciation

I’m told that he was my generation’s Bond…and I guess that’s true.  Film critic A. O. Scott wrote a great tribute piece on Roger Moore’s iteration of James Bond.

I never have (so far) watched Moore in old episodes of Maverick or The Saint.  I suppose the only role I’ve ever seen him play was that of James Bond.  And, as Scott mentions, we folks who were growing up in the 1970s & early 1980s had plenty of Bond fun to choose from:  Live and Let Die (his first Bond role); The Man with the Golden Gun; The Spy Who Loved Me; and For Your Eyes Only; Octopussy; just to name a few.  (Let’s not mention A View to a Kill.  Every type of film, television or book series has a clinker/clunker.)

The best Roger Moore moment for me is from…ahem…Cannonball Run.  I’ve never forgotten this scene, and it always makes me laugh.  He poked fun at his image and his signature role and obviously had fun doing it:

 

Thank you, Roger Moore 🙂

Leave a Reply

